ZEISS eMobility Solutions – From energy to eMotion

The increasing demand for electric vehicles is leading to a rethink in the automotive industry, as the structure of an electric powertrain differs significantly from that of a vehicle with an internal combustion engine. This change also has an enormous impact on production as well as on the assembly of components and poses new challenges for the quality assurance process due to increased precision requirements.

ZEISS eMobility Solutions combines a selection of products from the ZEISS portfolio and thus offers unique holistic measurement and inspection solutions for all components of e-mobility: from the battery, to power electronics, to the e-motor and transmission – From energy to eMotion.

Microscopic Solutions open up new horizons in Battery Research

The scientific community is facing new challenges in developing materials and devices for clean, carbon-free energy generation and storage. Batteries are changing the face of transportation and promise to revolutionize the electric grid when combined with clean and renewable energy sources. To fully realize the potential of this technology, science is needed in many areas.

Device performance is inextricably linked to microstructures across many orders of magnitude. To this end, researchers need a comprehensive understanding not only of these microstructures, but also of how they evolve as the device ages and how they change during operation. Since these devices do not operate under ambient conditions, in situ microstructure measurements play a key role in answering these questions. Our Drive Insight Into Advanced Battery Research handout will help you at this exact point.

image002

Contact

Carl Zeiss Microscopy Deutschland GmbH

Carl-Zeiss-Straße 22
73447 Oberkochen
Tel.: +49 7364 20 3500

Email: info.microscopy.de@zeiss.com
www.zeiss.de/mikroskopie

ZEISS is a leading global technology company in the optical and optoelectronic industry. In its four divisions Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology, Industrial Quality & Research, Medical Technology and Consumer Markets, the ZEISS Group most recently generated annual revenue of 6.3 billion euros and invested 13 percent of its revenue in research and development work (as of Sept. 30, 2020). High spending on research and development has a long tradition at ZEISS and is equally an investment for the future.

ZEISS develops, produces and sells highly innovative solutions for industrial metrology and quality assurance, microscopy solutions for life sciences and materials research, and medical technology solutions for diagnostics and therapy in ophthalmology and microsurgery for its customers. ZEISS also stands for the world’s leading lithography optics, which are used by the chip industry to manufacture semiconductor devices. ZEISS brand products such as ophthalmic lenses, photographic lenses and binoculars are sought-after and trendsetters worldwide.

Would you like to contact this exhibitor?

We would be happy to pass your request on.

ZEISS eMobility Solutions – From energy to eMotion

Die zunehmende Nachfrage nach Elektrofahrzeugen führt zu einem Umdenken in der Automobilindustrie, da sich der Aufbau eines elektrischen Antriebsstrangs deutlich von dem eines Fahrzeugs mit Verbrennungsmotor unterscheidet. Dieser Wandel hat zudem enorme Auswirkungen auf die Produktion sowie auf die Montage der Komponenten und stellt durch erhöhte Präzisionsansprüche neue Herausforderungen an den Qualitätssicherungsprozess.

ZEISS eMobility Solutions vereint eine Auswahl an Produkten aus dem ZEISS Portfolio und bietet damit einzigartige gesamtheitliche mess- und prüftechnische Lösungen für alle Komponenten der E-Mobilität: Von der Batterie, über die Leistungselektronik, hin zu E-Motor und Getriebe – From energy to eMotion.

Abbildung von Fehlermechanismen in Lithium-Ionen-Batterien in 4D

Neben dem Verständnis der Leistungsmerkmale für die gesamte Lebensdauer einer Batterie ist es ebenso wichtig zu verstehen, wann, warum und wie Batterien ausfallen. Die Mikroskopie kann als nützliches Werkzeug für die Untersuchung von Batterie-Mikrostrukturen dienen, um zu klären, welche Aspekte der Mikrostruktur zu bestimmten Fehlereigenschaften führen.

Mit der Röntgenmikroskopie (XRM) sind Forscher in der Lage, ein 4D-Bildgebungsexperiment über die Lebensdauer einer Batterie durchzuführen. Eine neue, intakte Batterie wurde untersucht, dann einer Alterung bis zum Ausfall unterzogen und erneut analysiert. Die Ergebnisse elektrochemisch gealterter Batterien wurden mit denen von zeitlich gealterten Batterien verglichen, die als Reaktion auf die elektrochemische Alterungsroutine eine systematische mikrostrukturelle Veränderung aufwiesen.

Kontakt

Carl Zeiss Microscopy Deutschland GmbH

Carl-Zeiss-Straße 22
73447 Oberkochen
Tel.: +49 7364 20 3500

E-Mail: info.microscopy.de@zeiss.com
www.zeiss.de/mikroskopie

ZEISS ist ein weltweit führendes Technologieunternehmen der optischen und optoelektronischen Industrie. In den vier Sparten Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology, Industrial Quality & Research, Medical Technology und Consumer Markets erwirtschaftete die ZEISS Gruppe zuletzt einen Jahresumsatz von 6,3 Milliarden Euro und investierte 13 Prozent seines Umsatzes in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit (Stand: 30.9.2020). Hohe Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung haben bei ZEISS eine lange Tradition und sind gleichermaßen eine Investition für die Zukunft.

ZEISS entwickelt, produziert und vertreibt für seine Kunden hochinnovative Lösungen für die industrielle Messtechnik und Qualitätssicherung, Mikroskopielösungen für Lebenswissenschaften und Materialforschung sowie Medizintechniklösungen für Diagnostik und Therapie in der Augenheilkunde und der Mikrochirurgie. ZEISS steht auch für die weltweit führende Lithographieoptik, die zur Herstellung von Halbleiterbauelementen von der Chipindustrie verwendet wird. ZEISS Markenprodukte wie Brillengläser, Fotoobjektive und Ferngläser sind weltweit begehrt und Trendsetter.

Would you like to contact this exhibitor?

We would be happy to pass your request on.
Share on email
Share on xing
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook